Contacts | Sitemap | Cymraeg  

The Mid Wales Region

The Mid Wales Region comprises the central area of Wales from the English border in the east to the Welsh coast in the west and encompasses the local authorities of Powys, Ceredigion and the Meirionnydd district of Gwynedd. The region also includes parts of the Brecon Beacons and Snowdonia National Parks.

The Region has a population of 235,295 (Census 2001), less than eight per cent of the Wales total. Mid Wales is unique when compared with the other Welsh regions in terms of having 40% of the land area of Wales (838,000 hectares) and the lowest population density (0.3 persons per hectare) with no urban centres of population greater than 20,000 people.

The availability of transport and the ability to travel supports the economic and social activity of the Region and is vital to the health and well-being of its local communities.

Discover Ceredigion

Explore Mid Wales & the Brecon Beacons

Snowdonia: Mountains and Coast